| EN
Encounter

A Hometown Seen as an Adopted Country, a Homecoming Akin to Taking up Residence. Does Your Mother Know You’re Messing about?

For God Film Festival: Do Man’s Part and Leave the Rest to the Will of Gods event. Photo courtesy of Walking Grass Agriculture
Info
DATE2021.08.05
TEXT LIU Hsing-Yu
art practiceart festivalWalking Grass Agriculture
Here’s a gift of love to you, I wish you happiness
No matter when or where you are,
Never forget my blessing.
Life’s a journey sweet and bitter, determination you must show,
Follow your wisdom, lay down your beads of sweat,
And find your own happiness
I Wish You Happiness, lyrics by LIN Huang-Kuen, composed by LIN Chia-Ching

As discourses on new genre public art, conversational art, participatory art, and relational aesthetics have brought forth new possibilities, there is a current attempt to separate art from the white cube and let it take on relationships and encourage interaction with society. I have taken a creative methodology and mindset that is almost religious and is based upon my personality and constitution in initiating several interactive communal art projects. Thanks to proceeds from these interactions, I was able to make my way in Taipei metropolis, though perhaps coming to the conclusion early on that ultimately, art can’t really solve real-world problems. In the past, whether on the topics of urban renewal, government expropriation of land on Shezi Island, the decline of main street businesses, or public housing, the hope that the work would reverberate and generate expectations and opportunities for changes remained a pipe dream. The companionship and understanding which comes as a part of the creative process would be consolation enough. In the exhibition Adventure Time in Shezi: One Step at a Time is the Best Way to Remember Happiness at the 2018 Guandu International Nature Art Festival, we worked from the food, using culinary stories as creative origins, interviewing Grandma LI WU Man on the art of making pickled wax gourd. She repeatedly reminded us of how one should select, dice, sun-dry, can the jars, add rice wine, and mix wax gourds with the fermented soybeans. In divulging her insider’s tips, she betrayed a wish that her “granddaughter in America can come back and learn the ways.” This touched a nerve with us, thinking back towards our own sī-tuā, our parents and grandparents. Would such an act still be valid if it happened back in our hometown, rather than the cultural venues of Taipei?

Bravery that Takes to the Graveyards

Grandpa, cross the bridge… Grandpa, cross the tunnel…

The day my grandfather was to be cremated, the Master sounded the inkin and copper ritual hand bells as a constant guide on the funeral procession from Dishueikan in Jiaxian District to the crematorium in Renwu District. I was afraid that when we crossed a bridge or entered a tunnel I would forget to recite these words of encouragement. This was our last physical journey together, so as the eldest grandson, I must utter every word without fail as a last token of grandfilial reverence. The custom is to guide one’s relatives with one’s voice, so that they won’t fear the bridge’s guardian spirits and lose their way. On the 90-minute procession, an endless barrage of “cross the bridge” being chanted makes one question life. I dozed off inadvertently at some points and was awakened by the Master. . The musings such as “see how many bridges there are!”, “are we there yet?”, and “how many bridges can there be?” on the way to the funeral gave birth to Walking Grass Agriculture’s work The Last Farm Boy. These bridges constitute the first thread of the work. Although adopting a method approximate to modernology, the connection with Huditian (literally “lake bottom farmland”) ties in with a second thread to bring the sense of archeological documentary.

Walking Grass Agriculture’s 2018 work The Last Farm Boy. Photo courtesy of Walking Grass Agriculture

Hudi (literally “lake bottom”), a customary name among the locals of Dashe, is a place located within the same district as Jianshanjiao. Neither Hudi nor Jianshanjiao are administrative place names, never printed on any map nor having a definitive border—it is just an approximate bearing and location with a privately owned lake. These days, excessive rains inundate the lake area and the waters do not readily recede. Huditian is the nickname Walking Grass Agriculture member CHEN Han-Sheng and his family made for the arable land left behind by his grandfather, which along with adjoining Dashe District Third Public Cemetery forms the second thread of the series of works. After collecting our grandparent’s bones in a daze, we placed the likenesses of the Tudigong (Lord of the Soil and the Ground) at the original tombs and a stone lion in the farmland, as if to keep the spirits around to keep guard on their new job and mission. With newly manifested bodies and appearances of the sculpture, they seem to have evolved along with their own histories.

The Last Farm Boy isn’t a singular work, but an “exhibition” created from various juxtaposed objects. We took our scooters from Huditian in Dashe to Dishuikan in Jiaxian on a day trip, setting out early morning and returning by night, noting the numbers of bridges crossed,   large and small, named and nameless ones, and, for those with the same names, by their numerical markers. The tally came to over a hundred bridges. This made us realize that “flipping mountains” or “crossing mountains and streams” are literal acts that we just “don’t see.” In the room titled with the exhibit’s name, the bridge names, plaques commemorating the achievements of CHEN’s grandfather in his life, and the Tudigong statuettes taken from the public cemetery have been laid out. Video footage from cameras set up to thwart tomb raiders has also become part of the installation, played back throughout the exhibition space.

The work originally dwelled on questions such as “do children of farmers have their own history?” and “are the seemingly ‘uncultured’ descendants of farmers qualified to create art?” emphasizing the relationship between the self and the birth family, while also touching on the realities of artistic endeavors. In retrospect, there is a greater desire to relate to gender politics and the communication and acceptance in the family. Nevertheless, the creative states and methodologies mentioned here seem to have gradually developed.

Walking Grass Agriculture is part of C-LAB’s 2021 CREATORS Creation/Research Support Program with a series of works starting with the Murmur Time Project. Pictured above, LIU Hsing-Yu’s mother performs in the marketplace. Photo courtesy of Walking Grass Agriculture

How Long Must We Travel to Exchange a Gaze?

Taking residence doesn’t necessarily equate to traveling abroad, but nowadays when being eligible for residence almost certainly means traveling abroad and is well admired, let’s contemplate the notion of “residence without traveling abroad,” or the possibility of “taking residence by returning to the home of one’s grandparents.” As trading goods makes for business, works produced in residence could never conceal the fact that as an island nation, we yearn for the exotic ones. Thus people always say, “whatever we do abroad can’t be wrong.” But is it possible that a “hometown is seen as an adopted country”?

In the history of Taiwanese art, even up to the modern times, there have been many artists who come across questions of the subjectivity of Taiwanese art in the flux of western ideas. This state of self-recognition continues unabatedly nowadays: whether it’s an art residence or art residency, there will always be gazes exchanged and experiences shared, leading on to self-discovery and self-acceptance. At this point, what are the possibilities of imagination towards art residences? From the concept of art residence follows all manners of arts and culture policies such as community building, regional revitalization, and art festivals. If the artist discovers something within, what opportunities will lie in wait for its actualization?

When the creator under varying circumstances starts to think about their own subjectivity, “homecoming as art residence” may be another possible avenue. Pictured is LIU Hsing-Yu’s father driving a tractor on the route to collect bamboo shoots. Photo courtesy of Walking Grass Agriculture

At this point, what are the possibilities of imagination towards art residences?

Murmur Time Project

How long does it take to pack boiled bamboo shoots in plastic bags, and tie a knot? Due to his failure to complete the task on his own within 20 minutes, my father mocks that “he is less useful than an artist.” This prompted me for the first time in my life to embrace him in consolation, surfacing feelings that I must “return home and lend a helping hand.” On matters of defining contemporary art and its possibilities, all I wanted to say at the time was “I don’t fucking care!” Another thought that arises is “after so many years, the notion of art in my parents’ mind is quite a useless but tolerable affair, a stubborn attempt on my part.” For regional revitalization, starting a hometown business, or even taking a hometown residence, one does not have to give up a high-paying career, but can rather take a more positive view and face the aging and declining health of one’s own parents. This will be a direct form of encouragement for all to “return home” and “take up residence,” and it is also the reason I had the opportunity at the end of 2020 to be considered a “filial child,” who spends plenty of one-on-one time with my father, working together on every step of the bamboo shoot harvest.

The bamboo shoot harvest season falls during the summer months. After the Dragon Boat Festival, for easier access to the mountains, we must wear a full complement of gear and tools to phut sún kha, namely to weed and cut branches, as well as remove chunks of mud and rocks on the paths which pose a risk to machinery. The process is not merely arduous, but frightening! “Taking a tractor down these paths is too dangerous! It’s as narrow as it gets!”, “It’s too difficult to work a hoe! I can never strike the same place twice!”, and “Have you seen so many mosquitos! The incense repellent won’t work until it spontaneously combusts just like ‘huat-lôo’ in the incense burners in temples!” are some complaints. Yet what makes my eyes water is realizing “for so many years, my father had to deal with all this without others’ help!”

What seems like a straightforward task of harvesting bamboo shoots consists of complex procedures, relying on years of practice and know-how to pull off. Pictured is LIU Hsing-Yu’s father cutting a bamboo shoot. Photo courtesy of Walking Grass Agriculture

After the shoots are collected, they are taken to be processed at the work area. Just hacking to remove the tips is quite a skill that takes a whole summer to learn, along with a hundred bamboo shoots laid waste. Slicing into chips, soaking, re-soaking, boiling, and packing all have their respective processes. The sprouting season slows after the Bailu (literally “white dew”) term on the traditional lunar calendar, at the latest drawing to a close near Mid-Autumn Festival. Afterwards, processing begins. From sun-drying to pickling, the varieties of dried bamboo shoots, dried cabbage, dried cauliflower, and dried radish fascinated me with their own sets of know-how. Besides exacting sun-drying procedures and daily observation of wind and weather conditions, there is also the introduction of starch film, a sticky substance that forms on top of rice porridge as it is cooked or rice in excess water boiled to gruel. This step creates an airtight seal, a trick that prevents the pickled bamboo shoots from oxidizing and turning black, preserving its visual appeal. Walking Grass Agriculture member CHEN Han-Sheng also took part in the harvesting and production processes, prompting us to ask, what can be revealed through the eyes of art?

Living in the same circles of people over time leads to exhaustion, and new environments bring a new pace of living and excitement of the senses. But in the fast-paced urbanization of today, the gradual shift of hometown into a foreign place is an inevitable thing for one who leaves their hometown for work or education. “This is so unfamiliar” is a state of feeling we come across ever so often. The reason why it occurs is that so much of our experience is “common sense” rather than knowledge, and they escape our consciousness.

To our parents, the 24 solar terms of tradition only serve as a crop calendar guide for buying produce cheaply in season, a time-abiding way of living, not the overly erudite or aestheticized system we know. Murmur Time Project was originally a project in which I, as an artist working in Taipei, wanted to interact with the locals near my place of residency. Due to a tumultuous 2020, being unable to invite my parents to serve the role of “the artist” meant I cannot claim this is the work I want to achieve.

When We Became Thankful for the Abundance of Art Festivals

The origins and development of Homesick box travel have been introduced in detail in the article “Once upon a Cardboard Box.” The road from a cardboard box to a full-blown art festival began with Walking Grass’ dissatisfaction with the production process of artwork, or rather a desire to remove it from the restrictions placed on tender contracts of public art and get rid of the government agency’s goals of fulfilling their constituents’ expectations. It means creating art festivals that occur “naturally” and centers on the artists themselves, leading to the concept of “using a guided introduction of the art itself to generate content for the art festival.” Through the introduction of the series The Last Farm Boy, After the Explosion – CHEN Han-Sheng Solo Exhibition, and Homesick box travel, we have the chance to outwardly observe ourselves and proceed to plan the contents of the art festival. At this point, we were grateful for a general proliferation of art festivals nationwide, which while making art festivals a more popular or even stereotyped catchphrase, also made it easier to communicate and coordinate with other parties. Throughout our discussions, whenever we hear project partners blurt out “wow, Dashe is also having our own art festival!” or “would people really be able to see art here in our town?”, us Walking Grass is ever more confident that this would work out for the best.

In places such as Huditian and the district public cemetery, where even locals rarely tread, visitors can now experience local topics through the artwork, as well as see how the artists themselves view the place. Next to the industrial area, motorists zip past without noticing the Renda Industrial Park Monument. Through rubbing and reading of the monument’s inscriptions, the scheduled reclassification of Dashe Industrial Zone from Special Industrial District to Type-B Industrial District in 2018 is naturally incorporated in the work. More importantly, the visitor could smell the plastic fumes from the petrochemical factories which stand before their eyes.

In 2019, Walking Grass Agriculture held their first art festival Farming & Arts Festival – Do U have Free Time? in Dashe District. Photo courtesy of Walking Grass Agriculture

Does Your Mother Know You’re Messing about?

The hometown is probably not different in space from a foreign land, rather only changing with one’s own disposition, varying with their stances and the point of view in scale. Only in this way can we view new matters and circumstances from existing experiences, uncovering new methodologies. In The Last Farm Boy, CHEN Han-Sheng and I became the mutual subjects of our observations in residence, piecing together a range of works in the Farming & Arts Festival we initiated. Whether in treating the project as the artwork itself, or the artwork as the project, the artists’ attitudes remain the same, while their roles in actual society are no longer bound, but fluid: whether it be the art administrator in the project, a curator, or a visitor. In Murmur Time Project, homecoming has incidentally become taking up residence, and provides residence for their parents in Taipei: becoming a culinary instructor who demonstrates how to marinate and cook foodstuffs, becoming a disk jockey who shares their collection of vinyl records bought at the Bade market in junior high or high school, slipping straight into the role of a “useful” artist, or stepping back into the role of the parent who listens to their own children, as well as an arts and culture worker who swaps tales of hardships and pleasure.

“Does your mother know you’re messing about?” is a saying from art school days, when classmates would jest around as we were devoted to making artworks. Today when art has become more intellectual, the fact it’s been better understood doesn’t necessarily mean it’s accepted as anything more than “messing about.” But what’s more important than being understood is to invite others to join in, to let others become the creators and producers. Only then does “messing about” become an organic activity, just like gathering bamboo shoots in the mountains, which serves up its own occasional rewards in the form of tree ears, bamboo mushrooms, fah-tsai, and termite mushrooms.

Info
DATE2021.08.05
TEXT LIU Hsing-Yu
art practiceart festivalWalking Grass Agriculture
Reference
01
Walking Grass Agriculture is an artist collective started by LIU Hsing-Yu and CHEN Han-Sheng, who with their respective farmer family backgrounds and love of art advocates artistic practice through curation, creative production, and arts and culture promotion to “flourish a state through agriculture, intervene art through agriculture.”
Author
LIU Hsing-YuLIU graduated from the Department of Art History, Tainan National University of the Arts, and earned his master’s degree in art theory from the National Kaohsiung Normal University. He founded the “Walking Grass Agriculture” and an artistic platform named “Coexist Exhibition.” He is a freelance curator, artist, and writer with a special focus on image aesthetics, popular culture, and gender issues.
More
Encounter
“We Don’t Know What We Don’t Know”: On the Attitude toward “Experiment” in the History of Science
Why can the term “experiment” be employed in such an extensive manner to refer to artistic practice as it should be by rights? And, what does experiment mean on earth?
DATE2019.04.08
cultural experimentScience Historyart practice
Encounter
Peer across the Ocean and Bask in Matsu’s Unsayable Time and History
Being a potential World Heritage site, undergoing numerous regeneration of historic sites, and located on the East Asian island chain (the first island chain) in the Cold War era, Matsu’s continued debate on topics such as preserving its military heritage, its collective military/civilian memory and narrative from the military administration period, and the revitalization of decommissioned military buildings, all seek to find a win-win or even an all-win scenario between native historical context and regional revitalization.
DATE2021.05.12
placemakingwartime culturecultural preservation
Encounter
The Golden Apple Snail Returns Home: A Field Study Across Species, Ecology, Art, and the Pacific
The golden apple snail has long been a serious agricultural pest in Taiwan. However, under what circumstances did they undertake the long journey to Taiwan from their native Argentina?
DATE2020.07.13
SpeciesecologyGolden Apple Snail

| EN
駐地

故鄉若異鄉、返鄉即駐地,你媽知道你在這裡鬼混嗎?

「盡人事 聽天命――謝天影展」活動現場。圖/走路草農/藝團提供
Info 相關資訊
發布日期2021.08.05
撰文 劉星佑
藝術實踐藝術節走路草農/藝團
送你一份愛的禮物,我祝你幸福,
不論你在何時,或是在何處,
莫忘了我的祝福。
人生的旅途有甘有苦,要有堅強意志,
發揮你的智慧,留下你的汗珠,
創造你的幸福。
――《我祝你幸福》作詞:林煌坤 作曲:林家慶

正當新類型公共藝術、對話性創作、參與式藝術或是關係美學等立論紛紛提出一些可能性,試著讓藝術離開白盒子,與社會之間開始發生關係並產生互動的當代。我懷抱著近乎信仰並合乎自己個性與體質的創作方法與狀態,著手發起過許多社區型的互動藝術計畫,也感謝這份互動,可以攢點收入讓我能在臺北「直直撞」,或許很早就知道藝術終究不能真的解決任何現實問題,過去,無論進入到都市更新、社子島徵收、街區蕭條還是社會住宅等場域,希望作品能在未來發酵,產生有機會改變各種現況的期待與契機,其實都是一種奢望,創作過程的當下好好陪伴與傾聽已足以,2018年「關渡國際自然藝術季」的展覽「幸福照起工,成為記憶的方法――生活秘境展」中,我們從食物出發,以料理故事為創作的起點,因此當時向社子島的李吳滿阿嬤請益如何做醃冬瓜,阿嬤細心且再三叮嚀地,從選冬瓜、切段、曝曬、裝罐、加米酒跟白豆豉,一個步驟一個步驟的解說製作的「眉角」,過程中,阿嬤不經意地說出「真希望在美國的孫女可以回來一起學」,這番話讓我們感觸良多,我們不禁想著自己的「序大」(文音讀做sī-tuā,長輩的意思),如果這個計畫不是在臺北這個文化場發生,一樣的事情,在家鄉仍然是成立的嗎?

墓仔埔也敢去

阿公過橋喔~阿公過磅空(pōng-khang)喔~

我的阿公出殯火化那天,從甲仙滴水崁一路到仁武的火葬場,沿路上,伴著法師的引磬聲與銅鈴聲,深怕錯過一座橋或是一個山洞與隧道,忘記喊出聲,最後一程,確實地喊出每一聲,聊表一個長孫最後的孝心,按習俗,讓親人尋聲向前,以免害怕橋神,魂魄就沒跟上來。超過90分鐘的路程,「過橋」二個字,喊到懷疑人生,打瞌睡了,還得靠一旁的法師搖醒告知,「怎麼這麼多橋啊!」、「到底到了沒?」、「到底有幾座橋?」這些因為出殯而引發的自忖,催生了走路草農/藝團(簡稱走路草)的作品《湖底田水上考古》,這些橋正是作品中的第一條支線。雖然是以「考現」作為方法,但是因為「湖底田」的關係,串接第二條支線之後,有了考古的感覺。

走路草農/藝團2018年的作品《湖底田水上考古》。圖/走路草農/藝團提供

「湖底」這個地方,這是大社當地人約定俗成的名稱,與「尖山腳」都在同一個區域,「湖底」與「尖山腳」並非行政地名,地圖上也未曾出現,沒有明確的邊界,只有大概的方向與位置,過去有個私人的湖。如今大雨後,亦時常積水成窪,不易消退,而「湖底田」則是走路草農/藝團成員陳漢聲與家人之間,用來稱呼爺爺留下來田地的名稱,與比鄰在田地旁的大社第三公墓,形成了該系列的第二條支線;我們無意識地把撿骨後,遺留在原墳墓的土地公像,連同石獅一一地安置在田裡,彷彿想要讓「祂們」依然繼續守護似的,有工作與有任務;在不同的形制與樣貌的塑像上,似乎也有著自己的歷史在演變一般。

「湖底田水上考古」其實並非單一件作品,而是一個由不同組件並置而形成的「展覽」;我們騎著機車從大社湖底田出發,前往甲仙滴水崁,一日往返,早出晚歸,一路上數著大大小小、有名無名的橋墩,連同無名橋與重複名稱的編號,在路途中居然有超過一百座橋樑,我們不禁遙想,原來所謂的「翻山越嶺」與「跋山涉水」只是自己「沒看到」而已;就這樣,與作品同名的展場內,散落著這些橋墩的名字、陳漢聲爺爺生前獲贈的匾額,以及公墓撿拾來的土地公像,而原本用來防止偷盜的錄影監視器影像,也成為裝置的一部份,在展場同步即時播放。

該作一開始,或許仍在「農家子弟有自己的歷史嗎?」以及「似乎沒有『文化』的農家子弟有創作的資格嗎?」等問題上打轉,指出自身與原生家庭的關係,亦想碰觸現實中實踐藝術的處境,如今再思考,似乎更想碰觸性別政治與家庭現實的溝通與認同,無論如何,上述中,某些創作狀態、創作方法似乎已漸漸在成形。

走路草農/藝團於2021年參與C-LAB的「CREATORS創作/研發支持計畫」,以「噥噥時間交換所」所展開的一系列創作計畫,圖中為劉星佑的媽媽在市場進行演出。圖/走路草農/藝團提供

目光交換得跑多遠?

駐地本來就不等於出國,然而現在當「可以駐地」近乎等於「可以出國」一樣,讓人心生羨慕時,不妨讓我們開始想想「不出國而駐地」的可能,又或者「返鄉即駐地」是不是可能的?南貨北賣是經商的門道,而透過駐地而生產的作品,始終難掩島國島民的我們,對於異國情調的嚮往,因為如此,也難怪會有一種說法認為「在國外做什麼都是對的」,然而「故鄉即異鄉」是可能的嗎?

臺灣美術史上,甚至是近代,仍有許多藝術家,因緣際會在接觸到西方思潮之後,開始思考臺灣藝術的主體性,而這樣自我認識的狀態,仍不斷上演著;無論是駐地還是駐村,一直以來,關乎著目光的交換與經驗的交流,最後又回到自我的重新認識以及自我認同;至此,關於「駐地」的想像,還有什麼可能?從駐地這一關鍵字出發,又牽動著各種關於社區營造、地方創生、藝術節等近年在藝文政策下所推動的熱潮,藝術家在這之中如果發現了什麼,可以有什麼實踐縫隙?

當藝術創作者在不同契機下,開始思考何謂自身的主體性時,「返鄉即駐地」或許是另一種可能,圖為劉星佑的爸爸開著鐵牛車前往採筍的山徑。圖/走路草農/藝團提供

關於「駐地」的想像,還有什麼可能?

噥噥時間交換所

把當季川燙後的竹筍,分裝到一個塑膠袋,然後打一個結,這樣的動作需要多久時間?我的父親因為花了20分鐘無法獨立完成,在自責哭泣中說著「我比做藝術還沒用了。」這也讓我生平第一次向前擁抱安慰著自己的父親,「我得回家幫忙」的念頭在腦海中搶灘,關於當代藝術的定義與可能性,當下真的只想說「I don’t fucking care!」,另一個隨即湧上的念頭是「這麼多年過去了,原來藝術對父母而言,仍然是自己一個無用但可以包容的任性。」關於地方創生、返鄉創業甚至在故鄉駐地的可能,真的不需要放棄高薪加以擁抱,只要稍加樂觀正向地、面對父母身體上的衰老與病痛,將更直接地驅使著每個人「返鄉」同時「駐地」的動力;也因為如此,我在2020年末才有機會當個「孝子」,長時間地與父親單獨相處,並一起執行完採筍的每一個過程。

筍子季大約落在每年的暑假期間,為方便進出山林採筍,端午節後,得穿齊裝備,帶著工具,開著鐵牛車,陸陸續續地沿著山徑「刜筍跤」(phut sún kha),除了除草鋸木,還要移開路上各種可能帶來危險的泥塊石頭。上述過程與其說辛苦,根本是驚險!「開鐵牛車走山路也太危險了吧!路要多窄有多窄!」、「鋤頭也太難用了吧!我永遠無法在同一個痕跡上掘第二下!」、「這蚊子也太多了吧!蚊香根本要用到發爐才有效吧!」各種抱怨中,讓我真正想到哭的是「過去這些年,居然都是由父親一人獨自完成這些工作的!」

看似單純的採筍工作,事實上有著極為複雜的工序,並仰賴長期的經驗與知識才得以完成,圖為劉星佑的爸爸採筍中。圖/走路草農/藝團提供

竹筍採收到工寮便後開始加工,光是用筍刀把筍尾取出的動作,足夠學一整個夏天、浪費一百根竹筍,接下來的切片、浸水、換水、川燙到最後分裝,一樣得按步驟來執行。筍子季大約在白露過後結束,最晚到中秋節便會告一段落,隨後來的便是各種日曬與醃漬食物的加工,從筍乾、高麗菜乾、花菜乾到蘿蔔乾,過程中的各種小知識同樣讓我感到驚奇,除了日曬程度的掌握,風勢與天氣的觀察,就是一個月後在醃筍中加入的「泔」,所謂的「泔」,指的是稀飯煮久後,表面浮起的稠狀物,或是水較多成米湯狀的粥,這個步驟可以隔絕空氣,不讓表面的酸筍氧化變太黑影響美觀與味道的小技巧。走路草成員陳漢聲也一同參與,在採集與加工的過程中,我們不禁在想,究竟藝術的參與可以看到什麼?

長時間待在同一個生活圈,對於生活的感受難免疲乏,新的環境可以帶來新的生活節奏與經驗刺激,而在快速都市化的今日,為了求學或工作而離鄉背井,故鄉隨時間推移變成異鄉是再自然不過的事,即使如此,「我好不熟」的狀態仍不時地會竄出來,之所以會竄出來,不外乎那些在很多知識之外的「常識」在日常生活當中沒有被意識到!

節氣之說對父母而言,那只是天氣允許、當季蔬果便宜,順紲爾爾(sūn-suà niā-niā)的順便之舉罷了,所謂的節氣之說,真的被過度知識化與美學化。「噥噥時間交換所」原本只是一個在臺北創作的自己,想跟進駐場域附近居民互動的計畫,因為2020年發生太多變故,所以覺得沒有邀請自己的父母來擔任「藝術家」的位置,我實在無法宣稱這是我「想」做的作品。

開始感謝藝術節氾濫的時刻

關於「思箱計畫」的緣起與發展過程,在〈一跤(kha)紙箱仔〉一文中,有著詳細的描述,而從一跤(kha)紙箱仔到一個藝術節,則是走路草不滿足於一個作品的生產,或者說,是否能不受公共藝術標案的限制,不受公部門為滿足居民期待的期待所產生的限制,讓藝術節「自然地」發生,回到創作者身上,「把作品導覽當成藝術節內容」的想法應運而生,透過介紹「湖底田水上考古」系列一作、「牆隔神農――陳漢聲個展」、「思箱計畫」等創作,我們有機會自己旁觀自己,並著手安排藝術節的內容。此時的我們,非常感謝藝術節的氾濫,好讓藝術節在變成一種較為通俗、日常甚至是有刻板印象的用語,非常便於對外溝通與協調,當我們在協調過程中,聽到合作單位表示「我們大社也要有藝術節了喔!」或是「這裡也可以看到藝術喔?」的時候,走路草就更確定這一切是有機會發生的。

連當地人都不曾走訪的湖底田與公墓,因為作品的關係,讓參與者可以現地的感受到,藝術家如何思考著眼前這塊土地,而位在工業區旁的「仁大工業區三中路綠化牆紀念碑」是連當地人駕駛途經都僅僅呼嘯而過,不曾注意到的地方,透過這塊紀念碑上文字的拓印與閱讀,大社工業區原定於2018年由特種工業區降為乙種工業區的議題,便自然地在作品中被闡述,更重要的是參與者在此直接看到眼前一大片的工廠,並聞到刺鼻的塑膠味。

2019年的大社在這裡「農閒藝術節」,是走路草農/藝團舉辦的首屆大社在地藝術節。圖/走路草農/藝團提供

你媽知道你在這裡鬼混嗎?

故鄉與異鄉或許沒有地點上的差異,只有隨著置身在不同的地方,立場與觀點尺度的變化,也唯有如此,才能在既有的經驗中,折射出新的事物,並找出新的方法論;在「湖底田水上考古」系列中,我與陳漢聲成為彼此駐地觀察的對象,進而交織出這系列的作品,在我們發起的「農閒藝術節」裡,無論是把計畫當成一件作品,還是在把一件作品做成計畫,藝術家的態度依然不變,而是對於現實社會身分的不再固著,並開始產生流動;無論要在創作計畫裡成為一名藝術行政?策展人?甚至僅僅是一名觀眾?在「噥噥時間交換所」的計畫裡,意外地讓返鄉成為駐地,讓父母於臺北駐地,暫時地成為一名餐飲講師,講解食物的醃漬方法與烹飪方式,或是成為一名DJ,在八德市場分享自己國高中時期購買的黑膠唱片,或是直接成為一名「有用的」藝術家,或是回到為人父母的角色,傾聽自己孩子以外,藝文相關工作者的職場甘苦談。

「你媽知道你在這裡鬼混嗎?」是就讀藝術大學時,同學之間因熬做作品,用來調侃彼此的話語。在藝術知識化的今日,藝術或許不會因為讓他人理解了,就被認為不是在鬼混,但是,比被理解還重要的,是邀請他人參與,並讓他人成為創作者與生產者,此時的「鬼混」才顯得特別有機,像上山採筍子一樣,偶爾可以遇到木耳、竹笙、雨來菇、雞肉絲菇等意外的收獲。

Info 相關資訊
發布日期2021.08.05
撰文 劉星佑
藝術實踐藝術節走路草農/藝團
Reference 參考資料
01
走路草農/藝團是由劉星佑和陳漢聲組成的藝術團體,兩人以各自的農業家庭背景以及對藝術的熱愛,從策展、創作與藝文推廣等面向發展出「治本於農,以農入藝」的藝術實踐。
Author 作者
劉星佑國立臺南藝術大學藝術史學系學士、高雄師範大學美術系碩士班理論組,組織走路草農/藝團與多元成展,從事獨立策展、創作與撰稿,專注影像美學、大眾文化與性別議題。
More 相關文章
觀察報告
科層時代的藝術生產之境――從「我們是否工作過量」的策展問題意識談起(上)
藝術機制的全面科層化蘊含著一種不易描述的隱藏暴力。這種暴力幽微地顯現在機制越來越仰賴科層制的良好運作,但這部巨大的生產機器要求所有人都必須適應藝術展演依舊無可避免的高度不確定性與流動性。
發布日期2019.10.13
科層制藝術實踐非典勞動
觀察報告
不知道自己不知道什麼:從科學史看「實驗」態度
實驗,這個事實上來自科學領域的詞彙,成為當代藝術中的關鍵字。為什麼「實驗」在今天能如此廣泛且理所當然地被拿來指稱「藝術實踐」?而「實驗」究竟意味著什麼?
發布日期2019.04.08
文化實驗科學史藝術實踐
駐地
文化研究中的另類進擊:在美食沙漠英國依循臺灣飲食作家的蹤跡
穿街走巷的過程中,我有幸遇到了當地居民或者同是遊客身分的朋友,我們藉由飲食討論國族認同的問題,從日常柴米油鹽談到移民與觀光文化。
發布日期2021.09.15
文化研究身分認同飲食文化