| EN
sketch

Talum Ispalidav: Buan Is Talking, Wielding Words as Scalpels, the Critical Voices of Aboriginal Youth in Contemporary Times

Talum Ispalidav represented Indigenous Youth Front at the Legislative Yuan during the anti-Cross-Strait Service Trade Agreement Movement. Photo courtesy of Talum Ispalidav
Info
DATE2022.01.19
INTERVIEW WANG Hsuan, HO Bo-YenTEXT HO Bo-YenTRANSLATION Jack WANG
indigenous peoplesmedia empowermentpolicy advocacy
“Looking up to the skies, we hear echoes from the mountainside, as if the moon is talking.”

—the Buan is Talking Calendar (Buan Is Talking)

Established in July 2020, Buan Is Talking leverages the Facebook and Instagram platforms to raise awareness of issues relating to Taiwanese indigenous peoples. The social media group not only actively responds to and offers insights on current affairs, but also distributes infographics for policy advocacy and cultural exchange, inviting the greater public to engage through social media communications. Its wide-ranging and in-depth coverage requires long-term dedication towards indigenous topics, as well as clear speculative and writing skills. The complex and expansive project falls on a single person, a Bunun youth by the name of Talum Ispalidav.

“I see myself as a person who wields the pen as a scalpel, writing criticisms on the platform.” Seeing that content creators of the same kind tend to favor a tone of positivism, Talum admits that his creative output is more cryptic and sometimes emotionally charged, a tendency faithfully reflected in his choice of topics. The moon (“Buan” in his native Bunun language) is an important medium in Bunun culture, and through words, the moon speaks, always casting a critical eye towards aboriginal issues, an unwavering voice that is both subtle and fiercely incisive.

Identity and Literature, the Cultural Practice of Self-exploration

Bunun by birth, Talum, owner of Buan Is Talking, is currently a graduate student at the Department of Chinese Language and Literature at the National University of Tainan. He possesses keen sensitivity towards the word, often expressing himself through poetry. He first learned about the indigenous students’ club at the university where he became personally involved in social movements. He was the social media manager at the Indigenous Youth Front on Facebook, which provided him with relevant experience when starting up his own social media group. But the foundation of the platform can be traced back to his years in middle school, when he received preferential bonus points as an indigenous person and was being ridiculed for it. In his recollection, that was when the question hit him, of how he can confront discrimination when he can’t even effectively communicate with others?

The lyric is about aborigines born with a desire for dance and song, and lyrics that use Bopomofo (Mandarin phonetic symbols) to approximate indigenous languages. Photo courtesy of Tainan City Council member Ingay Tali

Talum thinks that people have been conditioned to stereotypical views of indigenous peoples, so that whether they fit the preconception or not, they are subject to ridicule. Their paths towards self-identification are likewise laden with frustration.

“As I participated in indigenous movements, I came to understand what it means for me to be an indigenous person.” Speaking from experience, Talum thinks that people have been conditioned to stereotypical views of indigenous peoples, so that whether they fit the preconception or not, they are subject to ridicule. Their paths towards self-identification are likewise laden with frustration. “It has been a unique journey of identifying oneself as an indigenous person, understanding aboriginal agency, social status, and accepting personal histories. It is not just about culture, but a sense of guilt towards the historical conditions of aboriginal peoples in which one must strive to take back what has been taken away.”

Buan Is Talking then became a path for his slow and tortuous journey back to the tribe, the cultural practice of self-exploration.

SONG Ze-Lai in the work 300 years of Taiwanese Literature (the Sequel): The Seasonal Progression Theory Extended applies the seasonal progression theory to Taiwanese literary development history, positing the view that aboriginal literature has not yet entered the “winter” of political satire. Photo © AVANGUARD Publishing Group

Another reason for setting up the group was related to literature—which was also why Talum chose to list the group under the “Literary Arts” category. Writer SONG Ze-Lai in his work 300 years of Taiwanese Literature (the Sequel): The Seasonal Progression Theory Extended applies the seasonal progression theory to Taiwanese literary history, quoting the writers Malieyafusi Monaneng and Walis Nokan to point out that aboriginal literature spends the bulk of its time retelling the sadness, being stuck in the “autumn” of pity, thus unable to progress to the “winter” of political satire.1 Talum disagrees with SONG’s viewpoint and has debated over the issue with him on the internet, arguing that the “autumn” of pity is because of the indigeneity, which values conversation and progressiveness. The aborigine movement has two stated goals: first, to take back their land, and second, to achieve self-governance—neither of which have come to fruition. For them, aboriginal literature is not an appeal to sadness, but “to use the literary voice to tell and to reconstruct our reality, because these are actual, preexisting conditions.”

Talum further points out that as times change, contemporary aboriginal literary works such as MA Yi-Hang’s The Languages from the Mountains/To Become Sandie and Apyang Imiq’s Growing up in a Tree Hollow have deviated from the “canonical” style, incorporating more intricate and intimate experiences into the accounts of tribal histories, offering a wider scope of representation. Talum redirects his deep understanding and fascination towards literature into running the social media group. “The reason I created this kind of social media group is to reveal different aspects of aborigines as individuals…this is an attempt to combine aboriginal literature and the development of contemporary aboriginal movements. To me, the radical and reformist are manifestations of the true personalities of the indigenous peoples.”

A Solo Effort in Political Advocacy against Discrimination

The content of Buan Is Talking was conceived independently by Talum, by first setting the agenda, reflecting on the level of personal attention he has spent on the topic, and searching for perspectives of discourse through news reportage. He is currently occupied by topics such as rectification of tribe names, anti-discrimination law, and land and sea rights, and also responds to other current topics as he deems necessary. As the sole owner and social media manager, he is free to take on new issues as he wishes. Yet there is a fear of presumptuous authoritarianism and limited perspectives to his work, so he needs to solicit suggestions and feedback from his friends. Ultimately, Talum wishes to open the social group to more participants to create a healthy ecosystem where personal healing can take place.

“People follow topics on the internet, but in real-life campaigns, the impact of their actions is quite limited, leaving them feeling powerless.” Talum revealed a period in which he experienced crippling fatigue, when the more he learned about the historic fabric of aborigines, the more he was overcome with an incapacitating sense of sadness. He wondered if after all he had done, things had stayed the same. He now thinks that these feelings as being normal for indigenous peoples today, and has since adapted and transformed these experiences into content such as perception practice for the platform.

The Buan Is Talking Calendar operates primarily through current events analyses, policy advocacy, and community interests. Talum Ispalidav often publishes concise posters to communicate complex and diverse topics. The images shown are a collage of these infographic posters across a variety of topics from the Buan Is Talking Calendar. Image compiled by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab

Buan Is Talking has undoubtedly won its share of positive feedback and has brought about actual change. Once a group of students approached Talum to collaborate on a pictorial exposition of the state of “preferential bonus points policy” for aborigines. Through the process, many have shared their life experiences, which was especially touching for Talum. “The difficulty of advocacy platforms is dealing with divergent expectations on various topics, as well as the difficulty of achieving in-depth discussions, so I would not expect the platform to scale tremendously. At least there are people open to mutual perspectives and willing to further share their ideas.”

In 2021, pop singer Ella made a controversial remark2 at the press conference of the Taiwanese film Listen Before You Sing. Buan Is Talking criticized the incident online, which directly or indirectly resulted in a prompt apology from Ella herself and the production team. Talum says that he brings up this event as a positive example of apology. Without any deflection of responsibility, the persons concerned focused only on the language that was used. This stands in contrast to last year’s Golden Bell Awards, where attendees in aboriginal attire were the subject of taunting descriptions of “baring their buttocks,”3 for which no member of the press has offered apologies. Documenting overt or veiled discrimination, Talum produces posters that lay down and convey those instances: “in my experiences growing up, there was no concept of anti-discrimination educational materials, so I had to make my own. A friend of mine saw the posters and came to realize that discrimination really does exist in Taiwan, as if it’s something to be verified.”

The Media as a Path towards Empowerment and Collective Healing

In the initial conception stage of Buan Is Talking, Talum attempts to interpret contemporary literary works using Bunun vocabulary, offering an oblique view that contrasts with most literary works’ Han-centered view of indigenous peoples. Yet such endeavor requires much preparatory work, hard for a single person to take on. In comparison, researching into the issues, while also time-consuming, produces deeper resonance and interchange due to their publicness. Thus, the platform evolved, from its original methods of interpretative writing to an amalgamation of concepts and their topical presentations, for example: combining sustainable development goals of aborigines and ecological concerns in a call for underprivileged groups’ voices to be heard in climate change policymaking; or flipping the logical structure of the dominant Han language, such as the sweeping expression “lāu-huan-tian,” which exists to ridicule someone as a curmudgeonly aborigine with discrimination against age, race, and disease.

Talum Ispalidav mentions that people may use the sweeping expression “lāu-huan-tian” to harbor multiple discriminatory thoughts against age, race, and disease. Image from the Buan Is Talking Calendar. Image compiled by Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab

“Even if we can’t have reconciliation, we can impart the understanding that wounds remain, as the most difficult task is to tune in to the experiences of others.” Online discussions inevitably lead to clashes, and in the example of the preferential bonus points policy for aborigines, one of the comments pointed out that aborigines themselves are the ones with vested interest in the policy, while others insensitively caricatured aboriginal speech in taunting imitation. Talum admits having “lashed out” at unreasonable or unreceptive persons, his contentious nature earning him the nickname “furious social media manager.” He laughs at himself for getting into fierce debates with others even to this day, but has since come to terms with their perspectives, and is thus able to use the platform in addressing even more situations. “This is important because while we cannot fully communicate, we are able to use a more rational approach in trying to communicate. Just acknowledging where one’s rage comes from is quite the achievement.”

Picture of Talum Ispalidav (right) at the anti-Cross-Strait Service Trade Agreement Movement, captured by the Your eyes, Your ears news forum. Photo courtesy of Talum Ispalidav

Talum uses the media as a path towards empowerment and collective healing. Before a remedy has been found, one must first locate the place of the trauma, and find out the cause.

Continuing in this line, Talum uses the media as a path towards empowerment and collective healing. Before a remedy has been found, one must first locate the place of the trauma, and find out what caused it. In the end, Buan Is Talking attempts to offer alternative thinking for the discriminated and perplexed, through discussions of policy changes rather than directing blame towards the oppressed, working through advocacy to impart change within the system.

On the topic of tribal names, he brings up the example of Chinese Professional Baseball League player Giljegiljaw Kungkuan, and his “difficult to pronounce” name. Despite his appealing to the public to call him by the shortened forms of Giyab or Gili, the media largely refers to him by the Han Chinese transliteration “Giligilao.” To overcome entrenched language customs, Talum’s method is to advocate understanding towards aboriginal naming conventions, introduce the phonetic principles of each tribe, and ask entities to respect individual wishes to have tribal names listed on identity documents, even if some find it hard to pronounce.

“Taiwanese indigenous peoples once had the chance to form their own legislative body alongside the Legislative Yuan, similar to what the indigenous peoples of Canada had achieved.” Talum admits that due to the limits of the social media platform, he hasn’t done enough in the way of empowerment. He hopes to organize courses in the future to “not only construct knowledge systems, but unleash imagination towards political empowerment, allowing others to accomplish more than simply cast their votes or to stand in protest, and in the process mend historical rifts.”

Afterword

During the interview, Talum often complains about the hardships of maintaining a social media group, so that it seems his dedication wavers. Yet in the process of expounding his beliefs, one comes to realize his deep determination and confidence.

As for other independent media initiatives similar to Buan Is Talking, Talum brings up the mapasnava Bunun saikin Facebook fan page and the Dear Han People podcast. Besides, he was invited to the Taiwan Indigenous TV program LimaHelp to talk about discrimination, positivism/negativism, and stereotypes. Through these self-initiated or invited exchanges, Talum and his peers demonstrate great devotion of personal will and strength towards the causes they believe in.

Info
DATE2022.01.19
INTERVIEW WANG Hsuan, HO Bo-YenTEXT HO Bo-YenTRANSLATION Jack WANG
indigenous peoplesmedia empowermentpolicy advocacy
Footnote
01
Ze-Lai, SONG. "Close Reading of Two Poems by Indigenous Author Malieyafusi Monaneng—and Commentary on the State of Indigenous Literature Stuck between the Tragic and the Pastoral." 300 years of Taiwanese Literature (the Sequel): The Seasonal Progression Theory Extended. Taipei: AVANGUARD Publishing Group, 2018. p.512.
03
Shu-Min, YANG. "Taiwanese media criticized for disrespecting indigenous culture." Central News Agency, 27 September 2020.
Reference
01
Established in July 2020, the Buan Is Talking Calendar Facebook group focuses on opinion pieces, cultural exchange, policy advocacy, and community interests. “Buan” is Bunun for “moon.” As we peer into the sky, listening to the sounds of the mountainsides, it’s as if the moon speaks. The group welcomes all to see the world of forests and streams, foster mutual understanding, and together cultivate the land.
Author
HO Bo-YenHO is a writer and film worker, studying for a master's degree of Department of Motion Picture at NTUA, and runs the Facebook fanpage "Finding Neverpath."
More
sketch
Culture Is Life: An Interview with GÔO Pik-uí of Àm-khenn Culture Studio
The Àm-khenn Culture Studio set up by GÔO Pik-uí is a base for inquiring, tracing, and cataloging its cultural and anthropological heritage, identifying with the “Àm-khenn person” in the promotion of Àm-khenn culture.
DATE2022.07.21
regional revitalizationcultural workÀm-khenn Culture Studio
sketch
Keting Kurt CHEN of the Collectors
Co-Space: A Return to the Hometown or Stirring the Pond? The Courage to Leap in
Having participated in agricultural technical assistance work in countries of the Caribbeans and the Pacific islands, Keting Kurt CHEN returns to Taiwan to seeks out traditional wisdom in coexisting with nature, and sets up the Collectors Co-Space in Pinglin.
DATE2022.04.27
collectionthe Collectors Co-Spaceplantssustainability
sketch
YANG Ye: An Unofficial Cultural Historian like Me
Always enthusiastic to take to the mountains in search of the next artifact, YANG Ye has devoted 30 odd years to his line of cultural history studies, making it his life’s work.
DATE2021.06.09
Beitou-yaki cultural history studies cultural artifact

| EN
群像

Talum Ispalidav:月亮說話,文字做刀,當代原民青年的批判之聲

Talum Ispalidav參與反服貿抗爭運動時,代表原住民族青年陣線在立法院發表聲明。圖/Talum Ispalidav提供
Info 相關資訊
發布日期2022.01.19
訪談 王萱、侯伯彥撰文 侯伯彥
原住民媒體賦權政策倡議
「仰望天空,群山迴盪,就像月亮在說話。」

――「Buan 月亮說話 月亮曆」(簡稱「月亮說話」)

創立於2020年7月,「月亮說話」將Facebook和Instagram作為社群媒介,分享以原住民族議題為主的內容,不只積極回應、評論新聞時事,也產製相關政策倡議、文化傳遞等圖文創作,邀請大家一同在平台上開啟討論。貼文觸及的面向既廣且深,仰賴清晰的思辨和寫作能力,更需要長期關注原民議題。而這樣多元複雜的工作,幕後僅由一名布農族年輕人Talum Ispalidav所經營。

「我會覺得我是一個以文字做刀、用批判做書寫的平台。」觀察到性質相似的自媒體大多傳遞正能量,Talum坦承自己的內容較為晦澀,甚至偶爾可能還帶有情緒,而這也很真實地反映在他所關注的議題上。月亮(布農語:Buan)是布農族文化中的重要媒介,藉由文字,月亮開口說話,持續輸出原民議題的批判觀點,堅定的聲音時而溫柔理性,也在必要時憤怒。

身分與文學,自我探索的文化實踐

Talum,布農人,「月亮說話」的經營者,目前正就讀於國立臺南大學國語文學系碩士班,對文字敏感的他,平常也寫詩。讀大學時接觸到原住民族社團,親身參與相關運動,後加入原住民族青年陣線擔任線上小編,這也為他日後創辦社群累積了不少經驗。不過,談到平台的成立契機,最早或許可以追溯到國高中時期,因為原住民身分加分而受嘲諷的自身經歷。日後回想,這讓他開始覺得,如果連自己都不知道怎樣跟別人溝通,要如何面對歧視?

關於原住民的刻板印象無所不在,國小五年級藝術與人文課本中出現「原住民天生喜愛歌舞」等描述,並以注音拼音標示歌詞。圖/臺南市議員Ingay Tali穎艾達利提供

Talum認為很多人在成長的過程中,被灌輸了許多關於原住民的刻板印象,無論是否符合既定印象都可能招致嘲弄,追尋自我認同的過程充滿挫折。

「我在參與原住民族運動時,才慢慢思考我身為原住民到底意味著什麼。」以自身經驗為例,Talum認為很多人在成長的過程中,被灌輸了許多關於原住民的刻板印象,無論是否符合既定印象都可能招致嘲弄,追尋自我認同的過程充滿挫折。「認同自己成為原住民,去理解原住民的能動性、在社會中的階級地位、對自己的歷史產生認同,這段過程蠻特殊的。並不只是文化,是對於原住民族歷史現況的一種負疚感,覺得自己應該要做到更好,把過去被佔領的追回來。」

「月亮說話」遂成為他讓自己慢慢地、迂迴地回到部落的路徑,是一種自我探索的文化實踐。

宋澤萊在其著作《台灣文學三百年(續集):文學四季變遷理論的再深化》中,將文學四季遞嬗理論套用至文學發展脈絡,基於這個論調認為原住民族文學尚未到達屬於諷刺文學的「冬季」。圖©前衛出版社

另一個創立的理由,和文學密不可分――事實上,Talum為「月亮說話」選擇的平台分類,就是「文學藝術」。作家宋澤萊在《台灣文學三百年(續集):文學四季變遷理論的再深化》中,將四季的遞嬗理論套用至臺灣文學的發展脈絡,引用馬列雅弗斯.莫那能(Malieyafusi Monaneng)、瓦歷斯.諾幹(Walis Nokan)等作家,認為原住民族文學花太多時間在訴說悲情,還沒能跨出訴說悲情的「秋季」,進而遞嬗至屬於諷刺文學的「冬季」。1 Talum不認同這個觀點,曾與宋澤萊在線上展開爭論,表示原住民族文學之所以是大家看到的「悲情」,是因為「原民性本身就具備溝通對話與抗爭的性格」,而原住民族運動的兩大訴求:還我土地、我要自治,直到現在都還未真正達成。對他而言,原住民族文學並非訴諸悲情,而是「用文學去講出、虛構出我們的事實,因為這些真實情況本就存在。」

他進一步指出,隨著時代改變,當代的原住民族文學作品如馬翊航《山地話/珊蒂化》、程廷《我長在打開的樹洞》,已不同於所謂的「經典」形象,將更多細膩、私密的經驗編入族群歷史中,呈現出更多元的樣貌。這種對文學的理解和興趣,轉向至社群經營:「我會做這樣的社群平台,是想讓大家看到,當代原住民族不同人的面貌是不一樣的……這是個嘗試,結合原住民族文學跟當代原住民族運動的發展,基進、不畏抗爭,對我而言本來就是原住民族的性格展現。」

一人團隊,政治倡議和面對歧視

「月亮說話」的內容由Talum獨立規劃,作法是先設定探討議題,思考自己對議題的關注程度,再從相關新聞中找到著力點進行論述,目前多為關注原住民族正名、反歧視法、土地及海域法等議題的推進,必要時更會隨時回應時事。同時身兼老闆與小編的他,雖然可以隨心所欲地執行,但由於只有一人,也擔心產生權威偏誤和觀點的侷限性,因此經常尋求朋友的外部視角給予建議與回饋。最終的目標,是希望能將社群開放出去、讓更多人參與進來,使社群本身形成一個好的生態,達到近似自我療癒的效果。

「大家會在網路上關注議題,實際上在現實中做倡議,力量還是很微小,有時候會覺得蠻無力的。」Talum分享自己曾一度產生嚴重的怠惰感,越瞭解原住民族的歷史脈絡後,越會感到深沉的悲傷和無力,甚至質疑自己所做的事,一切是否依然停滯不前?他認為這些可能都是當代原住民的正常情緒,久了之後已經調適,甚至轉化為平台的創作素材,以覺察練習等方式進行社群分享。

「Buan 月亮說話 月亮曆」以時事評論、政策倡議、族群共好為主要經營方針,Talum Ispalidav時常以懶人包的形式,梳理複雜而多元的議題。圖片取自「Buan 月亮說話 月亮曆」中部份議題懶人包的封面。圖/臺灣當代文化實驗場整理

當然,「月亮說話」也獲得過不少正面迴響,更實質促成了一些改變。曾有一群同學主動向Talum尋求合作,眾人合力把「加分政策」的脈絡與細節整理出來,也有很多朋友藉此分享自己的生命經驗,對他來說是很感動的經驗。「倡議平台難做,第一是對議題的期待不同,第二是深度內容對一些人可能有點困難,所以我不會期待發展到很大的規模,但至少開始有人願意去理解、深入討論。」

2021年,藝人Ella在國片《聽見歌再唱》的記者會上失言2,「月亮說話」對此在網路上展開批判,進而直接或間接地致使Ella和製作團隊火速道歉。Talum表示,特別提起這件事,是因為這是非常好的正面道歉範例,過程中沒有推卸責任,純粹就其說過的話坦承錯誤。與之相對的是,去年金鐘獎有媒體看到原住民穿族服就報導露屁股3,至今仍然沒有媒體為此道歉。面對生活當中可見或不可見的歧視,他也製作相關圖卡加以傳播宣導:「在我的成長經驗裡,沒有關於種族歧視的教材,所以我才會做,也有朋友說以前隱約感覺到,看到教材才發現臺灣真的有歧視,這好像是需要被確定的一件事。」

媒體作為賦權與集體創傷療癒的路徑

「月亮說話」的初期構想階段,Talum試圖以布農語單字詮釋當代文學作品中的文句,用別於大多數文學作品以漢人視角來看原住民,創造出一種翻轉的切入角度。然而,這樣的產出需要大量準備工作,一人難以負荷,相較之下,探討議題雖然也需要爬梳資料,但因為議題涉及的公共性,而更加容易收穫關注和討論。於是平台逐漸轉型,從原本的做法改為結合概念的專題呈現:比如將原住民族的永續發展與環保概念搭配,呼籲將弱勢族群的聲音也納入氣候決策;或者翻轉漢字的邏輯結構,例如人們可能在使用上得過且過的「老番顛」一詞,實則同時隱含了年齡、種族與疾病污名的複合歧視等。

Talum Ispalidav提到,人們可能在使用上得過且過的「老番顛」一詞,實則同時隱含了年齡、種族與疾病污名的複合歧視等,圖片取自「Buan 月亮說話 月亮曆」。圖/臺灣當代文化實驗場整理

「即使可能無法促成和解,但可以讓大家理解有些傷痕仍然存在,最困難的是如何聆聽彼此的經驗。」網路交流的衝突似乎在所難免,以加分政策的討論而言,曾有人留言表示原住民就是既得利益者,甚至跳針回覆「的啦、的啦」來嘲諷。遇上不講理、無法溝通的人,Talum坦言曾不小心「爆氣」,也笑稱自己喜歡和大家吵架,「憤怒小編」的名號不脛而走。他笑說,雖然自己現在還是會跟他們吵,但會覺得比較理解對方了,也因此開始思考更多平台能做到的事。「這很重要,雖然無法溝通,但有人願意用較理性的態度進行溝通的話,我們都是很開放的,至少做到互相理解彼此的憤怒,這已經很不容易了。」

Talum Ispalidav(右)參與反服貿抗爭運動時,照片由「台大新聞E論壇」採訪時側拍。圖/Talum Ispalidav提供

Talum將媒體作為賦權與集體創傷療癒的一種路徑,而在找到療癒的方法之前,得先知道哪裡受傷、為什麼受傷。

延續這樣的想法,Talum將媒體作為賦權與集體創傷療癒的一種路徑,而在找到療癒的方法之前,得先知道哪裡受傷、為什麼受傷。總的來說,「月亮說話」嘗試為受歧視且不知如何面對的人提供了一些思考方法,討論政策如何修正,而不是指責被政策壓迫的人,從倡議的角度,試著在體制內促成改變。

談到族名的問題,他以名字不容易唸的中華職棒選手Giljegiljaw Kungkuan為例,即使本人已經說過可以稱之Giyab或Gili,媒體普遍都還是寫成漢譯的「吉力吉撈」;面對一時難以更改的語用習慣,作法就會是倡議讓大家理解命名規則、認識各族拼音的習慣,不會唸也應該尊重族人意願,讓他們可以單列族名在證件上。

「臺灣的原住民族曾經有可能像加拿大第一民族,做到跟立法院平行的原住民族議會體制。」Talum坦言,因為社群平台本身的限制,自己在賦權的部分做得還不夠,也期待未來能有系統性的課程,「不只是知識上的建構,去打開想像,做政治上的賦權,大家會想做些比投票或抗議更多的事情,也藉此彼此療癒那些過往的傷痕。」

後記

採訪中,Talum經常半開玩笑地抱怨經營社群平台的辛苦,表面上感覺狀態搖擺不定,但當他在論述自己的理念時,其實是相當堅定而充滿自信的。

關於和「月亮說話」類似性質的自媒體,Talum提到了友站「每天來點布農語啊!mapasnava Bunun saikin」「親愛的漢人」等。此外,他本人也數次受邀參與原民台節目《Lima幫幫忙》,談論歧視、正負能量、刻板印象等主題,這些或自發或受邀的參與,也一再證明了Talum和其他參與者們,是如何用各自的力量,試圖為自己關注、在意的事務盡心的努力。

Info 相關資訊
發布日期2022.01.19
訪談 王萱、侯伯彥撰文 侯伯彥
原住民媒體賦權政策倡議
Footnote 註釋
01
宋澤萊,〈細讀原住民作家莫那能的兩首詩――並論當前擺盪於悲劇和田園之間的原住民文學〉,《台灣文學三百年(續集):文學四季變遷理論的再深化》,臺北:前衛,2018,頁512。
03
楊淑閔,〈穿達悟族服出席金鐘遭虧 原文會盼消弭歧視〉,《中央社通訊社》網站,2020.09.27。
Reference 參考資料
01
1. 成立於2020年7月「Buan 月亮說話 月亮曆」以Facebook粉絲專頁為主要平台,以時事評論、文化傳遞、政策倡議、族群共好為主要經營方針。Buan,來自布農語的月亮。當我們仰望天空,聽見群山迴盪,就像聽見月亮在說話。邀請你與我們一同從山林小溪望向世界,互相理解,深耕土地。
02
維基百科條目:〈特種身分學生成績優待〉
03
張樂平、蔡沁縈、李婉伶採訪報導,〈原住民加分制度爭議 原民學生有話說〉,《小世界周報》網站,2020.11.30。
04
YuLing CHIU,〈鄉民們對於「原住民加分」,真的有很大的誤會〉,《關鍵評論網》網站,2019.03.05。
05
Muni Druluan 温馨,〈原住民族加分政策 加了就能回到家嗎?〉,《原視界》網站,2019.09.23。
Author 作者
侯伯彥90後的臺北人,文字與影像工作者,現就讀於國立臺灣藝術大學電影學系碩士班,並經營Facebook粉專「尋向影誌」。
More 相關文章
觀察報告
孫中山與我何干――原民性與更基進的原住民族紀念日
在一個原民性先於殖民的世界裡,向權力質問的對話始終存在,沒有一個殖民者能夠衣冠整齊的從這些質問中逃脫。從這個起始點,我們可以向國家及其體制發出挑戰,讓它更平等、讓它更開放。
發布日期2022.03.16
原住民原住民性文化路徑族語復振殖民
群像
「採集人共作室」陳科廷:返鄉?戲水?那些一躍而下的勇氣
過去曾至加勒比海及太平洋島國從事農業技術援助工作的陳科廷,返臺後走進部落、村莊收集更多人與自然共生的傳統智慧,近年回到家鄉新北市坪林,成立了「採集人共作室」,實踐永續生活的價值理念。
發布日期2022.04.27
採集採集人共作室植物永續
群像
陳政道:與林為伍,思考藝術,駐山研究的「森人」
熱愛登山的他,同時是一名創作者與電腦工程師,長年對自然與藝術充滿好奇,從疑惑到追尋,如此尋返往復――他是陳政道,與林為伍,遂成「森人」。
發布日期2021.08.11
森人策展藝術季