| EN
Review

Developing Community and Sharing Life Stories with Playback Theater: Pataauw Theatre Troupe

The Beitou Patauw Theatre. Photo by HSU Ping

From the Pataauw Lizen Association to the Pataauw Theatre Troupe

The Pataauw Theatre Troupe is composed of mothers who live in Beitou District. They transform the stories of the audience into plays, showing the energy of the community and their empathy for the audience with simple props and music. The troupe’s development has a close relationship with the Taipei City Pataauw Lizen Association,1 whose Playback Theatre courses had offered training for the members before the troupe was established. The troupe was therefore formed, with the name “Pataauw” (meaning “residence of witches” in Beitou Ketagalan language) metaphorizing the situation that the female members of the troupe are able to give touching performances after learning about the stories as the process of casting a magic spell.

Students and teachers of Beitou Elementary School, while working on a local heritage studies program, became interested in the abandoned Hokutō Public Bathhouse in 1994. The bathhouse was built in 1907 as the Takino-Yu Bathhouse and renovated in 1913 by the Ladies’ Charity Society of Formosa. After World War II, the Taipei County Council and the local police station moved into the building, and afterwards, various government departments located the building until the removing in 1989. After realizing the building was an important part of Beitou’s historical hot spring culture, the students and teachers started a petition, but the government did not respond. They next spread the news through the local community, which resulted in the birth of the Pataauw Lizen Association. In 1997, through the efforts of the Association and other involved parties, the Ministry of the Interior declared the Hokutō Public Bathhouse a level three historic site. In 1998, the Taipei City Government renovated the building and the Beitou Hot Spring Museum opened, becoming Taiwan’s first district museum managed cooperatively by citizens and the government.

After the museum was created, the Association continued operation by touring and assessing Beitou’s various historical landmarks; publishing the magazine Peitou (72 issues from February 19, 1996 to December 10, 2014); implementing emotional intelligence curricula at local schools; and by establishing the Seedings Cultivating Camp, which offers day care and after-school activities for children from high-risk households in Beitou, and the Beitou Community Safe Home Comprehensive Service Program. The Association also organized the Pataauw Theatre Troupe, and with its connectedness and passion, has cultivated its reputation as a paragon of community development in Taiwan.

Pataauw Theater Troupe and Playback Theater

The Pataauw Lizen Association established a community theater in 2001. After performing for a number of years, they realized that theater experiences could not be accumulated after the curtain fell, and the creation of props and costumes consumed a lot of resources. At this point, the board of the Association wished to extend the value of the theater and its performances, so they recruited local mothers to enrich the culture and history of their communities with theater. The association got in touch with KAO Yu-Chen, who promoted drama education in the community at that time, and she advised that playback theater would be a suitable way to extend the impact of theater in the community. The courses of playback theater then started from October, and after training the members all agreed and decided to continue and develop it, hence the establishment of Pataauw Theater Troupe.

Pataauw Theater Troupe Director LI Ching-Yu. Photo by HSU Ping

The Taiwan theater community first became interested in Playback Theater in 1998 when the Assignment Theatre invited Vernica NEEDA to hold a workshop in Taiwan. Then in 2000, Assignment Theatre invited Hong Kong artists Jennifer TAM Bik Ki and MOK Chiu Yu to hold a different workshop. KAO Yu-Chen’s involvement with Playback Theater began at this time. Finally, after being supported by Assignment Theatre for three years, some members sharing the same passion formed the Even Near Playback Theatre company in 2003 by opening community theater classes. 2Following KAO’s playback theater courses in 2003, the Pataauw Theatre Troupe was established and became Taiwan’s first community playback theater troupe.3 KAO later graduated from a Centre for Playback Theatre in the United States in 2006, and then left Even Near Playback Theatre to establish her Life Story Theatre, which holds training classes in the playback theater technique. She has also been the long-term mentor to the Pataauw players, focusing on playback theater skills. Pataauw Theater Troupe Director LI Ching-Yu said that she attended three semesters of training at Life Story, and it took her one and a half years before she confidently grasped this performance technique.

Playback theater performances usually include a host, four actors, and a musician. Running time is about 90 minutes and at most ten short improvisational skits are performed. The host must be skilled at leading and balancing the performance, as well as facilitation. To start, the performers share some information as an example to create a safe, relaxed, and trusting atmosphere, and this makes participants more willing to share. Performances are usually closed to protect the privacy of the participants. The storytellers are encouraged to be brave, and their internal perceptions are emphasized in the meantime. Regardless of whether the participant’s experience is happy or traumatic, the actors would listen attentively, never criticizing, and along with the host, grasp the main point, or what they call the “red thread” of the story. The actors then spontaneously perform the main point. Through this process of telling and extemporaneous performance, common understanding is produced, and the theater becomes the site of spiritual cure and resonance between the actor and teller.

Using the community as its base, Pataauw, unlike ordinary theater troupes, is mostly public-service orientated and performs for community, campus, hospital, or organizations for senior citizens and the disadvantaged. Pataauw performs three to five times each semester at Beitou or XinMin Junior High Schools, usually with upperclassmen. Preparation involves an interview with the homeroom teacher in order to better understand the students’ needs, such as issues concerned with worries in adolescence, study stress, bullying, or the generation gap, before deciding on topics for the performance.

The members of Pataauw Theatre Troupe interacted with the elderly during the performance. Photo © C-LAB
The members of Pataauw Theatre Troupe share their experiences in Playful Seniors: the Field Research Seminar of Senior Theatre. Photo by HSU Ping

Sharing Their Dreams—Accompanying Senior Citizens by Teaching and Performance

The Pataauw Theatre Troupe has cooperated with several organizations in Beitou for a long time, such as the Old Five Old Foundation and the Eden Social Welfare Foundation. Both of these organizations encourage seniors to continue to pursue their dreams. From 2014, Pataauw has participated in the Companionship Workshop at Beitou Community College. Volunteers 50 and older were trained to accompany about a dozen subjects between 60 and 90 years old in activities such as sharing old photographs, singing old songs, and exercise, as well as playback theater performance. These activities not only made an impact on the senior citizens, but taught troupe members a great deal. In both the workshop and performance, establishing trust with participants was of paramount importance. LI Ching-Yu also mentioned a performance at Beitou Elementary School that deeply impressed her. Through this performance, the Old Five Old Foundation hoped that children would better understand the senior generation, despite the extremely wide gap between the generations. In this playback theater experience, the elementary school students and senior citizens were able to have a dialog and understand each other better. It turns out that the senior citizens could communicate with and express their emotions to the children while learning how the children actually think. Bridging a generation gap between young and old is a glorious sight to behold.

We Perform Where We Are Needed

The Pataauw Theatre Troupe sees playback theater as an immaterial gift, and neither begs for the troupe’s own survival nor performs for the sake of performing. Teachers are invited to lecture to the troupe every semester, and the lecturers’ fees are paid by membership dues. The cohesiveness and the endurance of the group are impressing, as it is not easy for a troupe like this to continue operating for such a long time. How do the eleven members make time for this? The women forming the group are all married with children right from the start. “Thanks to our husbands’ salaries,” LI Ching-Yu said with a smile. Most of the women are also freelancers, such as lecturers, tutors, or drama teachers, or they are retired. Therefore, it is only possible for them to practice on Fridays, and they leave the weekend for family.

The Pataauw Theatre Troupe has also trained others in the art of playback theater. In 2009, Pataauw performed at a study camp for teachers in Yangmingshan, and prompted the establishment of the Plectranthus Theatre Troupe at Shipai Junior High School. Actually, forming a community theater is not easy and depends on each individual’s financial situation, available time, aptitude for long term learning, and self-discipline.

The Pataauw Theatre Troupe is the result of the drive for community development in Taiwan starting in 1994. From the Pataauw Lizen Association to the Pataauw Theatre Troupe, playback theater techniques have helped participants learn how to listen to others and stand in others’ shoes. This group of mothers insist on being present, participating, and learning every Friday. They support each other and have continued to do so for fifteen years until today.

LI Ching-Yu said, “I feel grateful for the many life stories I have heard.”

Footnote
01
The Association’s name comes from the pronunciation of Beitou, the district where the Association is based, in the plains indigenous Basay peoples language, and is transliterated as “Pataauw.”
02
CHENG Tai-Chiung, “A Community of Understanding and Healing: The Playback Theater of Yu-Chen Kao and Her Friends in Taiwan,” Journal of Aesthetic Education, Vol. 202, November 1, 2014, pp. 57-58.
03
KAO Yu-Chen, “Spring at the Beitou Hot Spring Museum: An Alternative Dialogue on Urban Renewal,”Peitou, Vol. 64, June 30, 2012, p. 25.
Reference
01
Peitou.
02
The website of Taipei City Pataauw Lizen Association.
03
The website of Beitou Hot Spring Museum.
Author
LO ChienAn art critic, editor and member of the International Association of Theatre Critics (Taiwan), , LO’s research covers the issues concerning contemporary images, space, performance, mobility and corporeal perception.
More
Review
Hang LI: Sandwishes Studio, Combining Frameworks to Cross Disciplines
Why “Sandwishes Studio”? Actually, they don’t make sandwiches, but investigate new possibilities of social engagement through curating and design.
DATE2020.07.30
inclusiveArtdesign
Review
The Immersive Aesthetics of Performing Arts in Taiwan
The actor-spectator relationship have changed from confining the spectators to their seats into treating them as the trigger and propeller of the performances.
DATE2020.03.30
public engagementImmersive AestheticsPerformance Art
Review
Mashup the Old Order with Kaleidoscopic Exhibitions and Performances: MASHUP all the CREATORS
If MASHUP all the CREATORS is bringing an unprecedented disturbance to C-LAB, where the former Air Force Command Headquarters located, what does it aim to subvert exactly?
DATE2019.06.19
CREATORSExperimentContemporary ArtPerformance Art

| EN
觀察報告

與社區同行,以一人一故事共享生命經驗:女巫劇團

女巫劇團演出現場。圖/許斌攝影
Info 相關資訊
發布日期2019.06.11
撰文 羅倩
共融社區劇場表演藝術銀髮遊戲

從八頭里仁協會到女巫劇團

女巫劇團的成員皆為北投在地的志工媽媽,她們傾聽觀眾分享的故事,再轉化為戲劇的方式呈現,雖然表演時的道具與音樂都很簡單,但卻能深刻表達出社區的活力,以及傾聽觀眾的同理心。談到女巫劇團就不能不提孕育該劇團的臺北市八頭里仁協會1,女巫劇團是由該協會「一人一故事劇場」(Playback Theatre)培訓課程所發展而成的社區劇團,因團員皆為女性且在聆聽完故事後,馬上以戲劇演繹說故事者的感受,感動敘述者的心靈,如同女巫般會施法咒,所以以北投凱達格蘭族語「Patauw」的原意「女巫居住之處」命名為女巫劇團。

1994年北投國小師生進行鄉土教學時,發現已呈現半荒廢狀態的「北投公共浴場」。此浴場建造於1913年,為日治時期臺灣婦人慈善會於1907年集資改善「湯瀧浴場」擴建而成,戰後有臺北縣議會、派出所等單位進駐,直至1989年各公家單位部門陸續撤離。師生們有感其建築與北投溫泉歷史的文化淵源,於校內發起陳情書連署活動,但沒有得到政府回應,遂將訊息傳達給在地居民,臺北市八頭里仁協會便在這樣的機緣下成立。經協會與各方努力,1997年「北投公共浴場」公告為三級古蹟。1998年臺北市政府斥資整修,「北投溫泉博物館」(溫博館)正式開館,為臺灣首座公民合營的地區特色博物館。

該協會並沒有因為溫博館的成立就結束活動,接續進行了北投古蹟踏查與導覽、發行《北投社》季刊雜誌(自1996年2月19日創刊到2014年12月10日停刊,共發行72期)、規劃植穗營(為社區高風險家庭孩子提供義務安親班與相關課外活動)與安家方案、與在地學校推行EQ教育課程,以及籌組女巫劇團。耕耘至今,協會的凝聚力與熱情可以說是社區營造的典範。

女巫劇團的一人一故事劇場

八頭里仁協會於2001年成立了社區的劇場,做了幾年演出,發現劇場經驗常隨著演出結束消失無法累積,舞臺道具與服裝製作也產生許多資源耗費。協會的理事們希望戲劇課程能延續下去,也讓社區的志工媽媽們可以透過戲劇持續活化社區的人文與歷史,2003年接觸到在社區推動戲劇教育的高伃貞老師,經過她的建議開始推動一人一故事劇場,從10月開始了一系列的培訓課程,培訓課程結束前,學員表達對此劇場形式的高度肯定,決定要讓一人一故事劇場在北投深耕,因此成立了女巫劇團。

女巫劇團團長李靜瑜。圖/許斌攝影

一人一故事劇場首次引入臺灣是1998年差事劇團邀請Veronica Needa來臺開設工作坊,以及2000年邀請香港譚碧琪與莫昭如來臺設工作坊。高伃貞與一人一故事劇場緣分即始於此,最初參與的團體夥伴經差事劇團扶植團練三年後,成立一一擬爾劇團,她開始進入社區開設課程建立團隊,22003年由高伃貞老師規劃帶領的「Playback劇場研習」課程,女巫劇團也因此成為臺灣首個社區型的一人一故事劇場團隊。3後來高伃貞2006年於美國一人一故事劇場學校畢業,離開一一擬爾劇團成立了悅萃坊,開始一人一故事劇場課程與培訓。至今她也長期擔任女巫劇團的課程培訓。女巫劇團團長李靜瑜提到當時他們課程上了三學期,一年半的時間,才對演出比較有自信與把握。

一人一故事劇場演出通常由一位主持人、四位表演者與一個樂手組成,演出長度90分鐘,最多可以即興演出十個短故事。主持人須具備引導與平衡技巧,如一開始的破冰,團員會先分享做示範,營造安全、放鬆與信任的關係,讓參與者願意主動分享,通常是封閉型演出能保護參與者的個人隱私。重視參與者/說故事者(teller)的內在感受,讓說故事者有說出故事的勇氣,不管是快樂的或是創傷的生命經驗,演員都會用心傾聽故事,不批評但同理。主持人與演員會抓取故事核心,隨著故事紅線(red thread)牽引主題於現場即興演出,在說故事與即興故事的過程中產生群體的共同理解,劇場成了表演者與說故事者彼此心靈療癒與共鳴的場域。

以社區為基地的女巫劇團,和一般劇團性質不大相同,大部分是公益與服務性質演出:社區、校園、醫院、長者機構或是弱勢團體。劇團每學期在北投國中與新民國中有三到五場演出,通常是高年級班級,在演出前的準備工作會先和班導訪談,了解班級學生的狀況與需求,如青春期煩惱、課業壓力、同儕霸凌、隔代教養,才會訂定演出的主題。

女巫劇團在演出活動中與長輩們互動對話,傾聽理解長者需要。圖/臺灣當代文化實驗場提供
女巫劇團成員在「戲遊銀髮:劇做老年田野方法論壇」中,與觀眾分享交流。圖/許斌攝影

長者當然也(還)可以說夢想⸺陪伴教學與演出

女巫劇團在北投也長期和許多單位合作,如老五老基金會、伊甸社會福利基金會,期望讓老人可以發夢,講夢想。2014年起參與北投社區大學的「陪伴生活工作坊」,帶領50歲以上的長者志工,一起陪伴十多位60到90歲的長者,進行老照片分享、老歌歌唱、運動等陪伴教學,也有一人一故事劇場的演出。這不只對長輩們產生影響與改變,對劇團成員也是學習。不管是工作坊或是演出,最重要的是與對象建立信任關係。李靜瑜提到在北投國小令她印象深刻的演出經驗,老五老基金會希望透過演出讓孩子更了解長輩,原本相距非常遠的兩個鴻溝世代⸺小學生與長者⸺透過一人一故事劇場產生對話與理解,原來長者的話語與情緒可以透過演出傳達給孩童,而長者看到孩子想的其實是這樣子啊!展現出跨世代老幼共融的美好風景。

在需要的地方,我們演出

女巫劇團將一人一故事劇場作為無形的禮物來給予,劇團沒有接案求生存的需求,也不是為演出而演出的社群團體,每學期請老師授課,講師費來自團員的會費。劇團如此長青,這群媽媽們的凝聚力令人佩服,團隊長期經營是不容易的事,到目前共有11位成員。她們是如何能騰出時間?一開始能參加志工的都是已婚媽媽,「感謝我們先生的薪水」李靜瑜不諱言地笑著說,大家多半是自由工作者,如講師、家教、戲劇老師或已退休,平日週五才有可能團練,週末的時間則會留給家庭。

在社區戲劇培力的路上,女巫劇團也曾經帶領過其他志工學習一人一故事劇場。2009年在陽明山為參與研習教師所做的演出,促成了培植石牌國中認輔志工成立「左手香劇團」。其實要成立社區劇團並不容易,個人經濟狀況與可運用時間、是否能長期投入學習與不斷自我精進,都是變動的因素。

女巫劇團可以說是1994年臺灣推動社區營造後所積累出的豐碩果實,從北投八頭里仁協會到社區劇場,再到女巫劇團,一人一故事劇場手法也讓參與者從他人的故事中學習傾聽與同理。這群媽媽們在社區每週五的日常團練中堅持出席、參與、學習,一路相互扶持,持續走過15年到今天。

「感謝在生命中相遇的故事。」團長李靜瑜說。

Info 相關資訊
發布日期2019.06.11
撰文 羅倩
共融社區劇場表演藝術銀髮遊戲
Footnote 註釋
01
協會的「八頭」,取自「北投」(臺語)在平埔族巴賽語的發音為「Patauw」,意為女巫居住的地方。 
02
鄭黛瓊,〈一個理解與療癒的社群團體⸺高伃貞和她的朋友們的「一人一故事劇場」〉,《美育雙月刊》,第202期,2014,頁57-58。 
03
高伃貞,〈春天在溫博館⸺另類都更對話〉,《北投社》,第64期,2012,頁25。 
Reference 參考資料
01
《北投社》雜誌季刊。
02
社團法人臺北市八頭里仁協會網站
03
北投溫泉博物館網站
Author 作者
羅倩藝評、編輯。研究關注當代影像、空間、表演、移動與身體感知議題。國際劇評人協會臺灣分會會員。
More 相關文章
群像
關於我們這些異男,你不知道的臺灣通勤第一品牌
由李毅誠和張家倫主持的Podcast節目「臺灣通勤第一品牌」,絕對是2020年另類的臺灣奇蹟。在百家爭鳴的眾節目中,兩人用一種無差別格鬥派的姿態,行走在Podcast江湖上。
發布日期2020.08.28
Podcast性別平權表演藝術
群像
李萬鏗:藝術、設計與跨領域思維,結合框架的三明治工
透過策展與設計,以公益創新和共融價值為目標,「三明治工」選擇這條少見的非典型創業路線,創造社會參與的新可能。團隊不斷將特定社會價值與意義疊加在一起,創造出新的事物。
發布日期2020.07.30
共融藝術設計
觀察報告
臺灣表演藝術的沉浸式美學
近年在臺灣的表演藝術展演作品中,常可以見到「沉浸式」、「參與式劇場」、「移動式」、「觀眾參與」、「互動」、「非典型劇場空間」、「環境劇場」等概念的字詞。
發布日期2020.03.30
公眾參與沉浸美學表演藝術